Click photo for our new home: GAMEDAYISHERE.COM

John Franco Elected To Mets Hall

John Franco throws the first pitch last September 11. (AP photo)
For once, here's some positive news involving the New York Mets. John Franco, the team's longtime closer, was elected to the team's Hall of Fame today. Franco, who will be the 26th player elected, is the team's all-time leader in saves and games pitched. He saved 276 games in his 14 seasons.

Here are the statements by both Franco and the Mets.

Franco: "It's a tremendous honor to be elected to the Mets Hall of Fame. I would like to thank Fred Wilpon, Saul Katz, Jeff Wilpon, the Hall of Fame Committee, all of my managers and coaches and of course my teammates. My entire family is looking forward to June 3."

Mets COO Jeff Wilpon: "John set a very high standard during his career both on and off the field. It's great that during our 50th anniversary season we can have John – a true New Yorker in every sense – inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame."

There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason behind the Hall of Fame vote, which is done by a seven-man group of members of the organization and media. There was no one voted in last year and before four were elected in 2010 there wasn't an inductee since 2002.

Here is the Mets Hall of Fame list: Joan Payson (1981); Casey Stengel (1981); Gil Hodges (1982); George M. Weiss (1982); Johnny Murphy (1983); William A. Shea (1983); Ralph Kiner (1984); Bob Murphy (1984); Lindsey Nelson (1984); Bud Harrelson (1986); Rusty Staub (1986); Tom Seaver (1988); Jerry Koosman (1989); Ed Kranepool (1990); Cleon Jones (1991); Jerry Grote (1992); Tug McGraw (1993); Mookie Wilson (1996); Keith Hernandez (1997); Gary Carter (2001); Tommie Agee (2002); Frank Cashen (2010); Dwight Gooden (2010); Davey Johnson (2010) and Darryl Strawberry (2010).

No comments:

Post a Comment